cropped-cropped-img_9631.jpg

I decided to create a blog, where I could share with my sister any knowledge I have gained over the last 8 years as I have studied nutrition and healing of the body. I am not a doctor or trained professional. I have just had a burning desire to learn. I have read over 100 books on nutrition in the 8 years with all kinds of extremes and totally different belief systems. I have listened to hundreds of podcasts and continue to listen to some everyday. What I know now, that I didn’t know 8 years ago is that food can heal. The body is amazing. Hippocrates said: ‘Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” I believe in that statement. It does matter what we put in our bodies. I have seen it in my own life and in my family’s lives. Learning about nutrition and food is something that changes because we have more knowledge than we used to have, more resources with the internet and more biohackers’ that are spending thousands of dollars to figure out how to manipulate the body and heal themselves. I believe the desire I have had to learn may be partly to share with others and partly for my family. This will be the most important blog I may ever do because I am hoping that it helps one of my heroes in this life, my sister Angie.

Angie got diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer about 3 weeks ago. She had a cough that just wouldn’t go away. She loves to run and noticed that it was getting harder to breath with her cough. She thought she had pneumonia and went to the doctor, they did a chest x-ray and noticed there was fluid in her lungs. She is a nurse at the Sacramento hospital and pretty knowledgeable so when they admitted her, she knew something was not right. It took days to get the results back that the fluid showed there was cancer cells in it. They did more test, x-rays, and biopsies. My sister just got the results back today, a few hours ago. It is Stage 4 Lung Cancer  and is in her spine, liver, and right lung. It is devastating new, but it was all the same kind of cancer, which was good news.  They are going to start treating her with a drug that is specically for that kind of cancer. It won’t just kill everything good and bad like traditional cancer. She trusts her doctors and they love Angie since she is one of their own. She is starting an injection that will strengthen her bones and recieve it every month to prevent fractures. There are still some side effects of this drug, like fatigue, diarrhea, and a acne like rash. We are praying this medication can stop the cancer in its track. Please Lord, help this medication stop the cancer. Cancer, you just don’t think it is going to happen to anyone that close to you. Angie is only 39 years old. She has three children who need her.  I feel my heart hurt.  It is hard to explain, but it is like the world is different now. I can’t get her out of my mind, thoughts, and prayers. I want to share with whoever sees this, how absolutely amazing Angie is. I also want to share some recipes, holistic healing, and some amazing foods that hopefully will help my sister prolong her life on this earth. We are members of the Church of Latter Day Saints. I believe that miracles happen in our day. We are fasting and praying that Angie receives one of those miracles and I believe she will. Love you sis!

! Image

