My sister is being so brave!! She is seriously doing great, staying positive and fighting the fight. I love her and am praying for a miracle for her. She gets rescanned on May 13th to see if the cancer drug has been working. I feel like it has and so does she.

IMG_8328

I have been thinking about what to post next on here and seem to get distracted all the time by my kids. I am sure many of you know what that is like. Springtime is tough when all the spring sports start on top of year end projects, reports, and programs. I feel overwhelmed at times and then just end up wasting my time instead of really digging in there and making the most of my day. I guess that is what makes us human. In some of my procrastinating, I was reading some of my favorite blogs and I read from kitchenstewardship.com. Katie has an extensive blog of her journey through health. Her father just got diagnosed with cancer so she has been doing what I have been doing and searching the internet for different opinions. I don’t agree with all of the foods she recommends, but I understand how confusing it can be and respect her opinion. Here is a link if your interested. http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2014/04/22/cancer-you-are-what-you-eat/

It all means so much more when someone you love is going through this and you want to help in anyway that you can. The most frustrating part is that one source contradicts the other and you get confused and frustrated. My sweet friend said to me today, “I feel like Joseph Smith when he was searching for the true church and finding that they all had some truth, but not knowing which was right.” There is a lot of truth to that. So what did Joseph Smith do? He prayed. I suggest we all do that when fighting illnesses and disease. I know that Heavenly Father is aware and wants to help us, but we have to ask. I need to use that in my own life more as I am sorting through all kinds of literature. That has been some of my hesitation to post the last few days. If you read my blog, just keep in mind that I realize that everyone is different and will respond differently to foods, supplements, ect. That is the hardest part, there is no ONE perfect diet for everyone but there are definitely some things we can hang are hat on. I will try and focus on those and then just let you know what different experts and doctors are saying and you will have to use pray and trial and error to see what works for you. You can also work with your own doctor because some autoimmune diseases will be sensitive to different whole plant foods, like nightshades, and others won’t. Just take what I post as a beginning of your own personal journey. I have no problems writing on here if I am wrong about something and will do my best to find the right resources. On that note, let’s talk about some healing foods. I decided to make my own list of top foods that I have researched. There are more foods than this list for sure that are still beneficial, but today I am just sharing the very top foods to have optimal health that I have learned from Dave Asrey’s sight along with many other doctors that agree with Dave’s list.

Veggies: cilantro, bok choy, brussels sprouts, fennel, celery, asparagus broccoli, cauliflower, avocado, and cucumber. I would say these are the best vegetables to eat. The next veggies on the list are kale, collards, spinach, cabbage, radishes, summer squash, zucchini, and lettuce.
You do want to cook your brussels sprouts, cauliflower, broccoli, kale, spinach, cabbage (except for raw sauerkraut) lightly to prevent the oxalic acids from affecting you.

Oil and fats: MCT oil, organic, virgin coconut oil, grass-fed butter or ghee, pastured egg yokes, krill oil, high quality fish oil, grass-fed red meat fat and marrow, sunflower lecithin, avocado oil, 72% or higher dark chocolate and coccoa butter.

Nuts and legumes: Coconut and olives are best, with almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia and pecans next in line.

Dairy: organic grass-fed ghee, organic grass-fed butter, colostrum

Protein: Whey(clean source, look at my post on whey), collagen protein, grass-fed beef and lamb, pastured eggs and gelatin, colostrum, low-mercury wild fish such as anchovies, heddock, sole, sardines, sockeye salmon, summer flounder, and trout.

Starch: sweet potatoes, yams, carrot, pumpkin, butternut squash.

Fruit: blackberries, cranberries, lemon, lime, raspberry, strawberry, avocado, coconut. (use organic berries because they are sprayed heavily) in a close second is pineapple and tangerines.

Spices and Flavorings:raw chocolate powder or raw cocoa (Bulletproofexecutive.com has a clean source of this and the vanilla, free of molds and toxins), organic vanilla, apple cider vinegar, sea salt, ginger, cilantro, and parsley.

Sweetners: xyilitol, erythritol, and stevia

Cooking: It actually makes a HUGE difference in the availability of the vitamins, along with toxins that can be produced when you cook foods on too high of heat. Except for the foods mentioned, you want to consume most plant foods raw. When you do cook your other foods, you want to cook on low temperatures and just take longer. I know we love to grill our foods on high heat and broil them, which I honestly am still guilty of at times with my veggies. I love roasted veggies, but I am starting to just cook them at a lower temperature and they still taste great with some good fats added to them. We will absorb more of the nutrients and not denature the foods when cooked lightly and slow. I try and not use my microwave at all. It still happens sometimes when I am in a huge hurry, but not very often. I will talk about this more in a future post in more detail. It’s a good idea to try cooking this way more often since your spending money and time on fantastic food and want to get the most from it.

