Angie, I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day. You sure deserve it. I will be thinking about you all day tomorrow and praying for some good results from the scans. I thought I would do a post and talk a little about butter. We grew up in the NO FAT craze and it has been hard for me to change the way I think about fat. I wish I could go back in time and do things different, but that is life. I remember always making cakes that were non-fat, but just full of sugar!!! So much worse for you than the fat was and that fat would have slowed down the insulin spike I got from those things. We were the queens of making non-fat desserts. I seem to remember being the one that ate the whole cake myself though, and I am pretty sure you only had one piece. You always had so much self control. It has been wonderful to taste butter again and realize how great it is for you. It definitely makes any vegetable taste better and also helps you absorb the vitamins in those veggies.

Have noticed that when I refer to adding butter and meat back into my diet, I always say, “Grass-fed?” I think my neighbors and friends think I am a little crazy or maybe a little “snooty”. I don’t know how it comes across, but the reason I use those words when I am talking about food is because the quality of foods mean so much to me and regular butter is a totally different food than organic, grass-fed butter. It is a completely different food. There is a HUGE difference. Grass-fed butter has higher quantities of the essential micronutrients and grass-fed dairy cows produce butter that has 50 percent mare of the vitamins E and A and nearly 400 percent more beta-carotene (which gives the butter a deeper yellow color) than the butter of factory-farmed cows. Cows are suppose to eat grass, and when they do, they properly receive all the essential micronutrients and deliver them to you. Grass-fed cows deliver two fantastic essential fats: conjugated linoleic acid (CLA), which has cancer-fighting and fat-metabolizing potential , and omega-3, which cools inflammation.

If you get regular butter then you get what the cow ate. Unless the cow is pastured, it’s milk has measurable quantities of herbicides, pesticides, dioxins (up to 200 times the safe levels), up to 52 powerful antibiotics (perhaps 53, with LS-50), blood, pus, feces, bacteria and viruses. Gross huh! Cow’s milk can have traces of anything the cow ate and you are getting these hormones and toxins in your butter. The hormones accumulate in the highest concentration in butterfat. This is also the reason that I suggest, if you cows milk, you should make sure you are getting RAW, whole milk from grass-fed cows. I personally only get dairy from grassfed butter or ghee. I don’t do cheese anymore, unless it is a very special occasion and I then buy raw cheese, which I will post about soon.

Most people that can’t handle dairy, can usually still have butter because it is just the butterfat and not the milk protein, Casein, which is usually the cause of the allergy or sensitivity. If you are someone that still has problems with grass-fed butter then you might want to try GHEE. This is clarified butter and more of the milk protein is taken out in the process of making it ghee. This may all be new information to some of you. A good habit to change is to buy organic butter and grass-fed if you have the option. They sell it at Costco now and most grocery stores.

Here are the best brands of Grass-fed Butter: Organic Valley Pasture Butter, Smjor, Icelandic Butter, and Kerrygold Pure Irish Butter.

AVOID: Margarine and butter alternatives. Go for the real thing but make sure it is organic. Otherwise, I would just use coconut oil.

Just FYI: Land O’ Lakes Margarine– It has the highest trans fat content of any stick butter/margarine.
I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray-it is made of soybean oil/GMO, emulsifiers, preservatives and artificial flavors. It can only claim zero calories and zero fat if the serving contains less than 5 calories and .5 grams of fat. If you look at a 12-ounce bottle that would be approximately 7, 397 calories. That is more calories and fat than four 8-ounce organic butter blocks. It drives me crazy how they advertise and try and trick the public into eating things they think are better for them. It seems so wrong.

