I am grateful today for all the amazing women in my life. I just got back from the lake and spent some time visiting with all my wonderful neighbor friends. What a blessing for women to have each other. I am also grateful for all my sisters, family and friends. What a great weekend we had spending some time together up in Idaho. Annette, sorry I got a photo with your eyes closed. You still look beautiful. Mom, I have to laugh every time I take a picture of you because your eyes were closed or almost closed in all my photos. Your still beautiful as well, so it’s all good. IMG_2963

IMG_0030

Here is one of my favorite recipes for a chocolate treat on hot summer days. If you are a chocolate lover, this is a great shake to satisfy your sweet tooth and also get some good fat and protein in. This is from detoxinista.com. She is one of my favorite blogs for recipes.

Chocolate Banana Protein Shake (Vegan, Nut-free)
Author: Detoxinista.com
Serves: 1

Ingredients
1 frozen banana*
3 tablespoons hemp hearts
½ cup water
1½ tablespoons raw cacao powder (or cocoa powder)
½ teaspoon vanilla extract (alcohol-free, if desired)
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
3-4 ice cubes (optional)
2 handfuls fresh spinach (optional)
Instructions
Combine all of the ingredients in a high-speed blender, and blend until thick and smooth. Adjust any flavors to taste, as desired, and serve immediately!
Notes
*Tip: Be sure to peel your bananas before freezing! If you have a high-speed blender, like the Vitamix, you can leave the banana whole, but otherwise, I recommend slicing the banana into small coins before freezing, for easier and more uniform blending.

