Update on Angie, she is doing pretty good. The last scan didn’t show the tumors smaller, but they also hadn’t grown at all. We just have to continue to pray for her and have faith in the Savior. I think about her everyday and we all pray for her many times a day. I am so grateful for the temple and that my family can be sealed together to be able to be together for eternity. I teach the 14 and 15 year old Sunday school class and we talked about the blessing of the temple today. Just feeling so grateful for being born into a family that had the true gospel of Jesus Christ and how happy it can make us. This is a rough world and we are truly blessed to be able to find peace, comfort, joy, and guidance through our prophet and modern day revelation.

IMG_0028

I have so many videos I want to make for this blog, but with my kids home for the summer, life just seems too busy and I get distracted in the middle of everything I am doing. I love summer, but it is chaos and I have to keep my kids busy to avoid the teasing and fighting. Hopefully I can make some soon, or at least when they start school in a month. I thought today I could at least share a new recipe. I buy my medjool dates at Costco. They are right by the produce and a pretty reasonable price.

I made these cookies last night and even Adam commented at how good they are. I have a hard time only eating one when I make healthier treats. They are still treats, so if your like me, once they are cooled put them in your freezer so they are out of sight. I like eating them frozen anyways. This recipe is from detoxinista.com. She has great grain free treats and I use her blog for many of the recipes that I make over and over.

The Healthiest Cookies EVER (Paleo, Vegan)
Makes 12 cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups raw walnut halves
1 cup medjool dates, pitted (about 12)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flax or chia seeds + 3 tablespoons water)
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (optional– see sugar-free options in the notes below)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat. In the bowl of a food processor fitted with an “S” blade, process the dates and walnuts together until a crumbly texture is formed. Add in the salt, baking soda, vanilla, and flax egg (see how to make a flax egg here) and process again until the batter is relatively smooth, a little stickier than traditional cookie dough.

Add in the chocolate chips and briefly pulse, just to combine.

Spoon the batter onto a lined baking sheet, and use your hands to gently flatten the cookie dough. (Tip: Wet your hands with water to prevent sticking!) Bake at 350F for 12 minutes, or until the edges are slightly golden. Allow to cool on the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Serve immediately, and store the leftovers in a sealed container in the fridge or freezer for best shelf life. These cookies should last a week in the fridge, and a month or more in the freezer.

Notes:
I love the buttery flavor of these cookies when made with walnuts, but I have a feeling that pecans or almonds would work well, too.
If you don’t have access to dates, raisins can be substituted in most cases, but the flavor will be slightly different.
If you don’t want to use a flax egg, one chicken egg can be used instead.
Optional add-ins that are free of added sugar include: cacao nibs, raisins, shredded coconut, chopped nuts
Enjoy!

