Angie update: She had another scan and her cancer hasn’t grown at all. I say that is a win!! I love you sister. Keep hanging in there. I know the side effects of the medication is hard, but you are such a beautiful person inside and out. Let that inner beauty shine and people will be better just for knowing you. Love you!

Here are my three crazy kids on their first day of school. I love uniforms!

IMG_3585

I have had a fantastic morning. I got my kids off to their first day of school this morning. I was totally excited for them and ready myself to be able to get more things done again and spend some one on one time with Mya, which I haven’t really done all summer. This morning I must have felt really motivated. Now that the kids are gone, except Mya of course, I will be able to make more videos soon. Today was definitely a catch up day. I was able to make 8 jars of fermented carrots and cabbage, so sauerkraut. So easy that anyone can do it. I have a video blog post on how to make this.

Then I made up a bison beef and heart stew in the crock pot, yes I said heart. That is a another post that will be coming, if it turns out good. I am very nervous about it because I have never had heart before, but I am a nutrient seeker and if you can find a way to make organic organ meats taste good, then the nutrition from them is worth a try.

After that, I made up some raw liver to try for a raw liver smoothie, please don’t leave my site just because of those last two recipes. Again, I will let you know how it goes. It is just a shot you take with some strawberries, but I just prepared it today and it’s in the freezer.
Lastly, Mya helped me pick some strawberries, carrots, corn, tomatoes, and beets from our garden. We went on a walk, did a little one on one time with some books and coloring and it’s only 1:00. Truthfully, this won’t last but it sure feels good today.

I thought I would post a recipe I am making for lunch with my garden beets and carrots. This works with any root veggies and taste awesome!! Here is the recipe:

Roasted Beets and Carrots with Rosemary Garlic Butter

Print
Prep time
15 mins
Cook time
55 mins
Total time
1 hour 10 mins

Serves: 4
Ingredients
3 cups cubed peeled red beets
2 cups cubed peeled carrots
3 tablespoons butter or ghee
3 garlic cloves, mashed
½ teaspoon dried rosemary
Sea salt, to taste
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
Instructions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Place the beets in a large mixing bowl, and the carrots in a 9 inch by 13 inch glass baking dish. (Mixing the roots separately keeps the carrots from turning pink from beet juice.)
Place the butter or ghee in a microwave-safe coffee mug and add the garlic. Microwave until the butter is melted. Stir in the dried rosemary.
Pour half of the melted butter mixture over the beets, and pour half over the carrots. Sprinkle generously with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Toss each of the root vegetables to coat them with the butter mixture.
Dump the beets into the baking dish with the carrots.
Roast for 55 minutes, stirring halfway through.
Serve.
This recipe is from Heather. She is a teenage nutrition nerd and enthusiastic chef. I love that! She was diagnosed with celiac disease a year ago. She loves to create and photograph new gluten free, paleo recipes for her blog. She has been Paleo since 2012 and loves to educate her friends and family about real food. She is the author of the ebook Grain-Free Family Favorites. You can find her blog at http://www.cookituppaleo.com, or find her on Facebook, Pinterest, Google Plus,Instagram, and Twitter.

