IMG_0704

This is a picture of Angie and her family a few years ago in West Yellowstone. I love our family reunions and the few times a year we get to be all together. There is nothing better!

First off, Angie is doing good. She is keeping positive and fighting the fight. The mind is so powerful. I hope Angie will tell herself everyday that she loves her body and know that it can fight and heal the cancer. It sounds corny but saying positive affirmations are really powerful. Sometimes when I sit in my infrared sauna, I practice saying some positive affirmations. Sometimes it is just telling myself I am a patient and loving mom, or that I love my body and am so grateful that it is working. Usually I say the affirmations that I need to really work on. I am hoping by saying them, they will start to happen. Call me a granola girl, but I know that what we believe will come to pass if we work on it. Angie, you ARE beautiful inside and out. Your body is powerful and can kill the cancer that is in it. Keep fighting sister!!!

Yesterday I was thinking how much I miss eating my granola recipe. The last few years, I used to make some homemade, sprouted granola and loved it!!! It gave me a little variety to breakfast once in awhile and was quick. The only problem with my old recipe is that the base of it was oats it is used a lot of raw honey or pure maple. Those sweeteners are still great to use, but I knew I could do even better on the sugar department and the refined grains. Well, we don’t eat oats anymore. For a while we ate gluten free oats, but my son who is wheat intolerant would notice that his stomach still hurt when we had these refined grains, even when they didn’t have wheat in them. As I have kept studying anti-inflammtion diets I learned that there are other foods that carry more nutrition and keep our insulin response down better than most grains do. So I have been looking for a really clean granola recipe that didn’t have added sugar in it, tasted great, and filled my body up with a pack of nutrients. I think I found a good one. This is a little hard core for my kids, but for once a week for breakfast, they like the change.

We use coconut milk that I make myself using one glass 1/2 gallon bottle, two cans of Trader Joes’s light coconut milk and fill the rest with filtered water, add some organic vanilla stevia and that is our milk for the week. It is a great milk for smoothies too. Coconut fat is extremely good for you and your kiddos. We really need those fats for our hormones to stay balanced and for our brain to work properly.

IMG_3780_2

Here is the recipe:

1 cup raw sunflower seeds
1 cup raw pecans
1 cup raw walnuts
1 cup raw pumpkin seeds
1 cup raw sliced almonds
1 tbs of cinnamon
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1 cup chopped medjool dates (they sell them at Costco and they taste like carmel-so good!! You must use these dates because it is what makes it so good without any added sugar.
1 cup raisins. (also at organic raisins are at Costco.)

Soak nuts and seeds in warm water and a tablespoon of salt for 8-12 hours.
Drain and spread onto a baking sheet. Sprinkle the cinnamon over the nuts and seeds.
Set oven temperature at 110 degrees, or if yours is like mine and only goes down to 170, then I roll a towel and prop it open as far I as I can. Dry out for 10-12 hours. You could also use your dehydrator. I just wanted to save on time and clean up and used the same cookie sheet to do the drying and the mixing.
Coarsely chope dehydrated nuts and then mix in coconut, chopped dates, and raisins.
Toss lightly to evenly distribute all ingredients.
Serve with some unsweetened almond milk or coconut milk and store excess in an airtight container.
I thought it was perfect but my kids wanted to drizzle a little raw honey over it.

If you have a problem with constipation, this is a great recipe for you to try. When you soak your nuts and seeds your removing the part of the nut and seed that is hard to digest. Your basically sprouting the seed so that your body absorbs even more nutrients from it along with awesome fiber. I think I am going to add this to my breakfast schedule just one day a week or when I feel like a little treat in the late afternoon, this would be a great choice as well.

