IMG_1671Angie has had a few setbacks these last few weeks. She found out that there is some cancer in spots that they didn’t find before so there will be radiation treatment done the next two weeks and then she will be trying another experimental chemo agent for the lung cancer. It has been a hard few weeks for her. She was feeling so good at Thanksgiving and we all just felt so hopeful that everything was working.

Faith is an action word, it doesn’t come easily for some people, but if it is an action than it is something that we have to work at. I think that Heavenly Father knows that trials like Angie having cancer are not easy. It is emotionally exhausting more than I would even know. But having to be tested is how our faith is strengthened. I think of the story of Abraham and Isaac. That was a true test of faith, well I believe this is one of Angie’s and anyone that knows and loves her, test of faith. We have to just trust in our Savior. He will not leave us and will comfort us when we are in need. He also knows the whole picture and we only know pieces of the puzzle, but maybe not what the picture will look like once each piece is in place. I look at her family and how close they have gotten this past year. I look at her husband and see how much he is trying and how much better his health is. There are blessings through trials that could come in no other way. I believe that Angie can still beat cancer and live a long life. She is trying so hard and doing everything she knows to do to help her body fight. We need prayers and guidance for her to know what to do for each step of this trial.

I have been studying lately about the most nutritious foods on the planet and not surprisingly it is organ meats. Organic organ meats are some of the most beneficial foods there are for man. I know this is just absolutely mind blowing for some of you to think about eating organ meats. Well, as you have seen me try liver smoothie’s, I have also struggled with consistent ways of getting this kind of nutrition into me on a regular basis. I think I found a great alternative. Standard Process has a supplement that is easy to swallow, no taste and packed with organ meats. It is called Catalyn. It consists of adrenals, liver, spleen, kidneys, and more foods like mushroom and nutritional yeast. I bought it this week and am going to try to take at least 3 a day everyday for a month and see if I can notice a difference. I know the food itself is always the best way to go, but this is much more practical for me.

IMG_2215

Here is a good Hummus recipe that we made this past week. We sometimes buy organic tortilla chips, but I still don’t like to have those often because they are cooked in Vegetable Oils, which is not a good oil. If you can find a brand that is cooked in coconut oil, please let me know! We also use cut up veggies to dip in Hummus.

Hummus Recipe
Total Time: 5 minutesServes: 8-12
INGREDIENTS:

2 cans garbanzo beans
1/4 cup raw sesame seeds
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 garlic clove, peeled
1 tsp cumin
Sea salt to taste
DIRECTIONS:

Drain and rinse garbanzo beans, reserving 1/4 c. liquid. Place all ingredients in a blender and blend. Add more water or olive oil until desired consistency is reached.

