IMG_0719IMG_0661IMG_0737

The update on Angie is that she is feeling better the last few days. She had her medication adjusted so she isn’t as nauseous. That is a huge blessing so that she can eat and have energy. I am so grateful to our Heavenly Father for watching out for her. Thank you for all your continuous prayers for her. She needs something good everyday in her life and reminders about how much she is loved. I know her kids and husband help do this for her. This is a hard fight and she is going to do all she can to win. I thought maybe I could just post about another practice that helps me feel calm and be able to let the good in my life everyday.

I thought I would talk about meditation today. If you take 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes at night, it can really improve your health and support your body in healing. It’s one of the big pieces of the health puzzle that people don’t always remember to do. It is really just taking some time everyday to breathe, ponder, pray, and listen. Yesterday I was listening to the Mormon channel, a free app that will stream live radio and other church programs to your devices. There was one on meditation that I was listening to. There is a series of christ-centered meditations you can use that help guide you in some simple short meditations. There is one on healing your heart with the Savior that is beautiful. On your Mormon Channel App on your iphone, search “Christ-Centered Meditation.” One easy practice to start doing is to breath in through your nose for 6 counts, hold for 6 counts, and release for 6 counts. Then you wait a moment and then do it again, 6 times. You will notice that you will feel more calm at the end of this simple practice. You want to sit with you back straight and shoulder’s relaxed, no legs crossed. Do your breaths, sit quietly, and just think and stay calm. Sit in a quiet state for just a few moments. It’s really that easy.

Some other forms of meditation are just being outside in nature. I love to go on walks and surround myself with something beautiful to look at. I think bringing this calmness to yourself makes room for other important feelings to happen like taking time to laugh everyday. For me, this can be hard. I just take everything too serious sometimes. So I have to make a conscious effort to relax and just laugh with my kids and husband.

I picked out these photos today of Angie, because we were able to be outside together, go to the beach, be in a beautiful park and garden, and walk. Just watching my kids playing together brings joy and peace to my soul. What can you add into your day to bring some peace and happiness into your life? Maybe try to start with meditation and see where it takes you.

Here is another meditation practice just from Youtube. There are so many types and voices so you need to experiment to see what you enjoy.

