Update: Angie is doing Chemotherapy Treatments and trying her best to stay optimistic. She has been tired and the nausea hits in the evenings. Please continue to pray for her. There is such strength in numbers and I believe in the power of prayer.

Last night we celebrated my daughter Ella’s birthday. She got to pick where to go out to eat and picked Texas Roadhouse, mostly because of their delicious, melt in your mouth rolls. Keep in mind that the kids just finished their clean eating, healing and nourishing GAPS diet. I could see the damage coming. I knew this was going to be a rough night for me and watching my kids eat these all night, except Isaac because of his gluten intolerance. Well, it was worse than I thought because not only was their rolls, but because I let the kids order what they wanted even after trying to prompt them to get some “better” options, I told them it was up to them. My kids didn’t pick good choices, had chocolate milk and lemonade, kept eating rolls and really had a great time. Adam and I paid the price because they were so hyper and bouncing off the walls the rest of the night. I am just gearing up for Isaac’s headache today. I hope that doesn’t happen, but there is a good chance it will. Why is it so dang hard to get your family to eat healthy?

I know this is real life and life is to enjoyed, including food. I guess I don’t understand what is enjoyable about eating the food that doesn’t make you feel good and actually makes you feel horrible later on. I also remember how horrible I used to eat and how addicting those foods are. Logically, I know that my kids have to live in the real world and make their own choices and live with their own consequences. What is that balance? We don’t eat out often, especially fast food, so hopefully that helps. They did so amazing on our GAPS diet last month, that it just kills me to watch them eat such bad foods. I am still their mom and it’s not like they bought their own meal last night, but I also told them it was ultimately up to them. Letting the control go, is really hard for me. I have to hope that they will come to recognize the difference in how they feel when they eat food that nourish and heals and then foods that cause disease and inflammation. Today, we are filling up our meals with foods that will nourish them, especially after last night. My goal is to always have a safe place for good food at our home, including wonderful treats and tasty meals. Sometimes it is so easy and simple we forget about basic vegetables being so delicious.

This is one of those recipes that is almost silly to post because it is so easy. I have already shared how easy it is to roast your vegetables, but sometimes we just need the reminder of the simplicity of just eating real foods.

This roasting method is highly adaptable, so feel free to use any oil and seasonings you like. I’ve been using a garlic-infused olive oil for extra flavor lately, but using coconut oil also makes this roasted vegetable practically melt in your mouth! Topped with a generous sprinkle of sea salt, it’s the perfect way to get anyone to enjoy more vegetables– including my toddler!

roasted-cauliflower

Easy Roasted Cauliflower
Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

1 large head cauliflower, chopped into small florets
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive or (melted) coconut oil
Sea salt & black pepper, to taste

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350F and arrange the cauliflower florets into a single layer on a large rimmed baking sheet. (You may need to use two pans to fit them into a single layer, depending on the size of your cauliflower and baking sheets.) Drizzle the cauliflower with the oil and use your hands to toss the cauliflower directly in the pan, making sure to rub and coat the vegetables evenly in oil. Sprinkle generously with sea salt and pepper, as desired.

Place the pan(s) in the center of the preheated oven and roast for 35 to 45 minutes, until the cauliflower is golden and tender enough that it is easily pierced with a fork. (The smaller you chop the florets, the faster they cook– so, the smaller the better!)

