BaconWrappedThighs21

Yes, I said Bacon. If you would have asked me when I was going through my Vegan phase if I would ever eat bacon again in my life, I would have told you absolutely not. Man, I was really missing out on some amazing flavors. Let me say that I don’t believe that bacon is a health food and I don’t believe we should consume large amounts of it on a daily basis. A little goes a long way to add flavor. I use 1-2 pieces on my salads all the time with a few fried eggs that have the yolk runny. They are delicious salads if I do say so myself!!

Just like any meat, there are big differences in what kind of bacon you buy and if it will contribute to disease by eating it. I recommend pastured pork from a local farm if possible. I know that is hard for a lot of people. You can order pastured pork, online from Pete’s Paleo. They give you a discount on your first order. It is like a ham almost. You can tell this stuff is the real deal and it’s delicious. You can also buy nitrate free, less processed bacon at Costco by AppleGate Farms or at your local health food store. Yes, it is three time the amount of money, but it is a different food than the cheap stuff. It is worth the money, just use less and eat it less often.

This is one of my favorite recipes from Diane Sanflippo. It is easy, delicious and my family loves it. We buy organic chicken thighs when we can. If your not buying organic, I suggest taking the skin off the chicken but when it’s organic, you can leave it on. There is a lot of fat in this recipe, but if its organic meats than it is a healing fat and won’t hurt you at all. I like to turn the chicken breast about half way through so that both sides gets the bacon cooked a little crispy. You can just cook it a little longer depending on how thick of bacon you use.

Bacon-Wrapped Smoky Chicken Thighs
Yield: Approximately 4 servings.
Click here for estimated nutrition facts.

Ingredients:
4 bone-in, skinless chicken thighs
8 slices of bacon
2 tsp Smoky Spice Blend
Preparation: Preheat oven to 375. Sprinkle the chicken thighs with 1 tsp of Smoky Spice Blend, then wrap each one in 2 strips of bacon. Sprinkle with the remaining Smoky Spice Blend and bake for approximately 40 minutes. Enjoy! Smoky Spice Blend: Ingredients:

1 Tbsp chipotle powder
1 Tbsp smoked paprika
1 Tbsp onion powder (eliminate to make this FODMAP-free)
1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
1 Tbsp sea salt
1/2 Tbsp black pepper
Preparation: Combine all spices in a bowl, then store in a small container. Yield: 4 bacon-wrapped chicken thighs

